What to do if my ball lands on another lost ball?

What to do if my ball lands on another lost ball? It’s a rare situation, but one that can happen at any time and then poses a great mystery to most golfers. The ball lands in the thick grass next to the fairway and surprisingly you find not just one ball, but two balls – one of them was here before. Now the question arises as to how to solve the situation: aiming at your own ball on the off chance and seeing what happens when you hit the ball is definitely not the right option.

Rules of Golf: My ball touches a lost ball

The answer is not complicated, but it does require attention to a small but subtle difference. Basically, the lost ball counts as a moving obstacle and may therefore be removed provided this is done without undue delay or damage to the site. Nevertheless, we distinguish between two variants:

  1. The ball in play touches the lost ball and at the same time touches the ground. The obstruction, in this case the lost ball, may now be removed without penalty. If the ball moves during play, it must return to its original position covered (which, if not known, must be estimated). (Rule 15.2a(1))
  2. The ball in play lies completely on the lost ball and does not touch the ground. In this case, Rule 15.2a(2) applies: the ball in play may be lifted without penalty, the movable obstruction removed, and the ball in play dropped in a relief area. The reference point of the relief area is the estimated spot where the ball lay on top of the lost ball in play. From here you are allowed to drop within one club length, no closer to the hole and in the same area of ​​the course.

See Also: Best Way to Learn Golf? Tips and Techniques for Beginners

 

Leave a comment